RSS

Michael Wolf Photography

14 Apr

tc34

There’s no other way to say it; Michael Wolf likes to watch. Not that there’s anything wrong with that; I am partial to a bit of voyeurism too. When I first moved out of home there were a couple of bears living in the apartment opposite me that took great delight in being watched. So I was happy to oblige. Not that I have any particular attraction to bears, but I enjoy voyeurism as much as the next cub, I mean guy. Hmm…

Anyway, back to Wolf.  Shot in Chicago, his Transparent City series couldn’t have a more banal subject matter; someone adjusting their monitor; a guy on a teleconference; another one cooking pasta.  Yet in viewing his work one gets the sense that these people don’t like to be watched.  In fact, they would probably knock your lights out if they knew they had a telephoto lens pointed at them.  Or, if they’re like my furry friends in St Kilda, they might just put on a show.

tc32

tc122

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2009 in looking, photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
