RSS

Looking: José Manuel Ballester

03 Mar

I spent several hours last week trying to figure out why the Australian dollar is low despite our interest rates being higher than many other developed economies. Loser – I know. But I never did figure out the answer. Just when I thought I it made sense, my rationale suddenly fell in a heap. I’m sure there’s a reasonable explanation, but damned if I could find it.
It’s just complicated.
José Manual Ballester’s photographic images are complicated, too. The Madrileño creates visually spectacular, large-scale works that verge on the surreal. Repetitive lines, patterns and colours saturate the frame and assault the senses. Yet amongst all the confusion and chaos there lies a sense of order and decorum. The lines meet at perfect right-angles; the structures seem sturdy and reliable. For a brief moment it all makes sense. Even if you can’t quite explain how.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2009 in art, contemporary, looking, photography

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
